I was standing on the bus stop this afternoon waiting for my bus, when I spied a bum weaving his way across the street in a drunken stupor, singin‘ and hollerin‘ away. Bums make me so freakin‘ uncomfortable, I just can’t help it. I don’t know what to say or do. I didn’t want to step back into the crowd and hide behind anyone, so I just stood there.

He started asking people for change, then recognized the guy standing next to me. “You already gave me change! I should return the favour!” So he started fumbling in his pockets but then got distracted and turned to me. We stared at each other for awhile while I tried to compose myself, and finally he flashed a rotten grin and said:

“Don’t look at me with love in your eyes!”

I couldn’t help it, I started giggling like mad. So he playfully swatted me and said, “Go on!” Then he stumbled away. I really wish I had some change to give him. The prostitute bum should really take a lesson in a sense of humour from him.

Anyway, Canadian Election 2008! Wooo! I went to the church with Howie and DirtySailor tonight to cast my ballot. We had the most senile volunteers on the face of the planet. They were checking to see if we were registered, and we had to repeat ourselves at least 100 times.

“You live at 239 you say?”
“Yes.”
“E. Avenue?”
“Yes.”
“249?”
“No, 239.”
“Exmouth Street?”
“No…”

The little old lady would peer down her glasses at the sheet while the elderly man tried to locate information on his sheet of paper with a ruler, then they’d get all confused with even and odd numbers, etc etc. It was hilarious. Also, infuriating.

Now my roommates and I are watching the coverage, each of us with a bowl of popcorn in our laps. I guess since I’m an adult now I better start caring about where my tax dollars are going.

