Things I have learned since my ascent into adulthood some six months ago:

1. Making good money means nothing when you’re dealing with student loans and lines of credit. I have never been so financially stressed out in my life.

2. Bills magically accumulate overnight.

3. Wanting to cut corners means never taking cabs anywhere, but using public transit (something often unheard of as a student).

4. People will not believe you if you’re 22 and have a career… especially with a BA in English.

I want time to write again. I want time to explore other things. I want to be passionate about travel. I want to stop drinking so much (or maybe cut back to once a week). I want it to stop raining in St. John’s. I want I want I want. Sunshine and palm trees and monkies. Coronas with lime. Maybe an electric blanket.

