Yesterday qualifies as the laziest day of my lifetime. After being miserable for about 24 hours, Muffin and I went to see Jim Carrey’s Yes Man. I know some people find Jim Carrey’s acting obnoxious, but I adore the man. The movie was great and completely lifted my spirits. When we came home, I melted some cheese on toast (I’m a freak) and sat down and watched a Planet Earth DVD. Bliss.

I’m in the middle of a really fantastic book called Elle by Douglas Glover. It’s based on the true story of a young woman from France who gets abandoned on the Isle of Demons off the coast of Labrador and is left to fend for herself. She somehow survives. I love historical fiction. She quite possibly might be my most favorite literary character of life.

Typically, I write a post commemorating the past year. On NYE, my fellow party people continuously slammed 2008 and dubbed it “2000-Hate.” I, on the other hand, felt like puffing out my chest, putting on airs, and deeming 2008 the best year of my life. In many ways, it has been.

First of all, I graduated from University with a BA in English and a Diploma in Professional Writing. Amidst my doom and gloom of not being able to find a real job, I found a real job. Actually, to be more specific, within a week of graduation I found a real job and also had an interview for an advertising firm, where the very generous CEO promised to try and find me work somewhere even though I had no background in the field. No shit.

I still remember receiving that phone call from my current company… I was working at Financial Services at the time. I ran out into the hallway and when I was told the job was mine, I had to sit down because I was overwhelmed. I wanted to gush a million thank-yous. I wanted to cry and scream. When I was emailed my contract terms, I kissed the computer screen. It was all I could hope for, and more. Job stability, writing experience, benefits, good pay.

My friends threw me a fantastic Graduation-New-Job party. Feels weird to realize I’ve been out of school for nearly a year. I keep thinking I should email my old favorite profs just to say “hi,” but I doubt they’d remember me anymore. I made new friends through the diploma program as well. Four years of University, and it was only during my final year that I became confident in my writing and was able to share it with others. I’m so glad that I did. My classmates and I became extremely close, and it’s a relief to know that my work isn’t entirely terrible. Somewhere along the way, I made the Dean’s List.

The only downfall of the year was yet again failing in the men department. The year was relatively uneventful, besides several incidents of me being drunk and making out with strangers. I “dated” a guy over the summer, but he was clearly only interested in one thing. The others aren’t worth mentioning, but they involve body-builders and pajama pants with one leg missing.

My conclusion, after being single for an eternity, is that it has nothing to do with me or my high standards or my picky nature. It has nothing to do with being turned off by all men because my male roommates discuss women like they are pieces of meat waiting to be skewered by their penises. And it has nothing to do with all my friends being super-model gogeous and other “friends” being back-stabbers whom seek out my own personal love interests. My lack of love life is simply due to the weather in St. John’s. Yep. That’s it. The weather. *shakes fist at the world*

