The book that made me behave like a sappy whiner emo baby

The book that made me behave like a sappy whiner emo baby

Being absorbed in the writing of this navy training manual has left me completely oblivious to the surrounding world, including the fact that J-Nurse, Dinner and their 500 pound dog/horse are moving to Nova Scotia next week.

J-Nurse dropped by the house tonight with my belated Christmas present… a little scrapbook filled with pictures of our years together, mostly in university. Funny, we went to school together for thirteen years, but it wasn’t until we left home that we became close. I flipped through the book, sniffling and snorting the whole time, and was suddenly faced with the fact that my best friend is leaving me. Leaving me all alone. All alone in the world without anyone else to do my hair or slap me across the face when I’m being unreasonable or take me shopping for clothes that actually match.

 

The pictures were…ridiculous. At least half the content contained me kissing somebody, somebody else licking my face, backgrounds littered with beer bottles, etc. My boobs and vag also made impressive appearances, although briefly. And all the while I was thinking how terrible it is to grow up. To lose that edge. That little bit of insanity. That piece of skankiness.

 

And all I gave her for Christmas was a framed photo of me and her. She put hours into my gift. God I’m a terrible friend, slaving away for hours on a navy training manual without considering the fact my best friend is leaving. I’m going to replace her with Bailey the golden lab and perhaps JagerBomb if she’ll have me.

 

New best friend, Bailey the fatty.

New best friend, Bailey the fatty.

