What did I do today?

 

I awoke at 10 a.m., jogged through Long Path without encountering coyotes or moose, straightened some shit out at the bank, fought with my parents, drank some beer, fought some more, visited relatives, the end.

 

Did I mention that I ran into the Judo Master the other night? JM was a guy I dated in 2007, whom I became all googly eyed for but he left shortly thereafter for the West coast. When he returned two years later, we tried to rekindle the romance. However, it became quite clear that he was only interested in my booty. And my breasts. And nothing else. Or at least, my paranoid, committment-phobe brain started sending DANGER! signals to my heart, and I got outta there quick.

 

Anyway, after that whole mess, I ran into him on the street last week. I saw him approaching and turned my head quickly to pretend I was in a deep conversation with TOR. Then I heard, “hey Candice.” I turned, and with the most awkward gusto ever, said “HIIIIIIIII!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” We made idle chit-chat, talked about France and work and other crap, and then his girlfriend waddled up beside him. “WELL!” he said, shaking my hand quickly. “It was nice running into you!” Thus interrupting me mid sentence, and disappeared into the night.

 

And then, of course, I find out a girl I graduated from high school with is engaged. And I mean, good for her, that’s amazing and all…but why does SHE get to be married, while guys continue puking on me while we’re doing it?

 

(I need to update my Flickr account, just not right now, and so these pictures are absolutely oversized. Apologies.)

 

The view from my Auntie's balcony. My home. It still gives me chills, and I've seen it a thousand times.

The view from my Auntie's balcony. My home. It still gives me chills, and I've seen it a thousand times.

 

Can you believe I can’t find a single drinking buddy in this town?